Go Back   Foo Fighters Postboard > Foo Fighters Discussion > Foo Side Projects
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old December 5th 2012, 06:02 PM
Visiting is pretty...

Default Musicianship

I'm new to this so please, be gentle.

As a drummer myself I can defiantly appreciate the skill level that went into "Wasting Light" by Taylor Hawkins and the rest of the guys into recording that way. It gave me a fresh reminder of just how much I still have to learn.

My real reason for posting is in respect for what Dave's philosophy of music has been and seems to still be in stuff he's done in and out of the Foo's (ie. Sound City). The few self recordings I've done where in a 10'x12' shack with egg carton walls and SM58 being the best mics we could get. We recorded everything onto a computer (not having the budget or knowledge to record into a expensive tape deck) and that's it. All the tracks are digital but we only did basic equalization to any of them. All the effects came from the amps or the natural tones of the room. Really, it sounds like it was recorded in a garage (which it was) but that's what makes it so different from other local guys. And damn, does it ever knock an ego down a few pegs. But don't get me wrong, I still see other local groups take off with material they cant play live. Its BS. Its been a huge motivational booster to have Dave f*ing Grohl go on live television and say "its all about what goes on in here [head] and in here [heart]" and to "learn your trade". Its been a huge personal motivator to keep practicing and learning. To keep pushing my skills and write more and more.

So despite all the crap that comes out these days, there are still some of us who are trying to keep it real.
Thanks man
An Aspiring Musician
Old December 6th 2012, 08:58 AM
Have you found your way around

Default Re: Musicianship